California Mathematics Council Community Colleges 


CMC3 Foundation

The new CMC3 Foundation Board consists of

  • President:  Debbie Van Sickle, Sacramento City College

  • Treasurer:   Rebecca   Fouquette, De Anza College

  • Past President:  Susanna Gunther, Solano Community College""

  • Member-at-Large:  Karl Ting, Mission College

  •  Member-at-Large:  Danny Tran, De Anza College

 Your CMC3 Foundation Board has committed itself to the purpose of the CMC3 Foundation which is:  To provide scholarships to community college students in the state of California under the purview of CMC3, To recognize and reward student academic success , To stimulate interest in mathematics and mathematics education.

During the academic year 2013-2014, the Foundation awarded a total of $ 6,000 in scholarships to students attending Northern California community colleges..

Your CMC3 Foundation Board will continue soliciting donations from other foundations, corporations, the business community, and our CMC3 membership, as well as discussing possible fund-raising events. We welcome any ideas you might have regarding these endeavors. Please contact us through any of our Foundation Board members.

Please help us help students by contributing to the CMC3 Foundation.

Please take time to fill out the donation form. Whether your donation is $5, $10, $20, $50, $100, or more, we thank you for your continued support. Contributions are tax deductible as provided by law and our tax ID Number is 94-3227552.  Thank you.

Please click on the donation form button below.

CMC3 Foundation Donation Form

return to top


CMC3 Foundation Scholarships

Applications are now being accepted for 2015 scholarships.   Information and forms are now available below:

Tahoe Student Speaker Competition Application:  Recipient receives a $500 scholarship

The deadline for applying has now been extended to March 30.


If you have questions about the foundation scholarship, please contact the foundation president, Debbie VanSickle.

return to top

CMC3 Foundation Scholarship Recipients for 2013-2014

Last year we invited all CMC3 members to nominate students from their colleges.  We awarded a total of $6,000 to four great students.  We would like to thank our two judges, Charles Duff, retired community college math professor, and Barbara Illowsky, on a temporary assignment to the State Chancellors office.  The following biographies of last year's winners were submitted by the member colleges.

Tied for first place and receiving $2500 each:

Nataliya Polichshuk, Cosumnes River College.


Nataliya grew up in the former Soviet Union, enduring significant hardships and religious discrimination that threatened to derail her education.  When she came to the United States, she was in her thirties and the mother of six, but she was determined to continue her education.  She started taking classes at Cosumnes River College and worked her way up through the entire lower division mathematics curriculum, maintaining a perfect 4.0 grade point average.  She is currently the “go to” tutor  in CRC’s Math Center and plans on a career as a mathematics teacher.

Amethyst Raybee, Mendocino College

Amethyst  is a student at Mendocino College, where she performs consistently as a top student in her math classes.  Her passion for mathematics is evident not only in the classroom, but also when she is tutoring or leading MESA workshops.  In addition to her work fostering mathematical excellence among her peers, Amethyst is actively involved in student government, where she serves as the President of the Associated Students, and as a member of both the Curriculum and President’s Policy Advisory Committees.  Amethyst has been accepted to UC Berkeley in the fall, where she will pursue a degree in Applied Mathematics with the goal to move on to earn a PhD in Math History.  She would eventually like to develop math history curriculum for both K-12 and community college students.

Tied for third place and winning $500 each:

Huy Truong, Evergreen Valley College

C:\Users\w0004543\Downloads\Huy Truong (4).JPG

Huy Truong has a very strong passion for mathematics. He has quickly finished all the mathematics courses at Evergreen Valley College, all with grades of A, and finished many of them with honor’s research projects. For the past year, he has chosen topics to study on his own with a faculty member.  Recently, he has finished learning how to construct the real numbers from the rational numbers using Dedekind cuts and how to construct an ordered field containing the rational numbers that do not satisfy the Archimedean Principle. Huy is not just a single-minded mathematics student. He is also quite compassionate. In fact, he has done so much voluntary work that he has received a President’s Service Award. This summer he will be an intern at a summer research program at the University of Wisconsin.  In the fall, he will continue studying mathematics at UC Berkeley.

Xinyu (Jason) Liu, Sacramento City College

Jason is a first-generation college student, and only came to this country from China just over three years ago.  He has served as a tutor in math, physics and computer programming.  He is interested in digital technology and hopes to someday start his own company.  He co-founded and served as president of the Sacramento City College Math Club and is a member of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society.  Jason plans to attend UC Berkeley in the fall, majoring in computer science and math.  His long term goal is to earn a PhD in computer science or applied physics.  


The Tahoe conference provided a successful end to our 2013/2014 fundraising season.  We started a new tradition with our first annual Foundation Gala on the first night of the conference.   I’d like to thank the following; Pearson Publishing, the MontBleu Hotel, CMC3 , all those who helped with food and set up, and everyone who braved the blizzard and bought tickets to the Gala.   As always, all money raised will be used to fund student scholarships.    

Student Speaker Competition

The Foundation was once again delighted to facilitate the annual Student Speaker Competition, made possible by a generous gift from past CMC3 president Debra Landry.  This year’s winner, Kris Anaya, who recently transferred from Sacramento City College to UC Davis,  gave a talk entitled “The Integration of Math and Music: a Transition from Sac City to UCD,”  inspired by the work of  composer and mathematician Iannis Xenakis.  Kris was mentored by Hsiao Wang from Sacramento City College.  Thank you to Larry Green for running the competition.  

Friends of the Foundation 2013-2014

The CMC3 Foundation wishes to acknowledge the following people who have so generously donated to the Scholarship Fund during the fiscal year July 1st, 2013 to June 30th, 2014.


Circle of Friends ($500 or more)




Debra Landre
Pat McKeague


Hexagon of Friends ($200-$499)


Charles S. and Judith M. Barnett
Allyn Washington
Chris Barker


Pentagon of Friends ($100-$199)


XYZ textbooks
Guy De Primo
Stefan and Margaret Baratto
Rebecca Fouquette
G Ling
Richard Hansen
Wade and Jane Ellis
Dean Gooch


Square of Friends ($50-$99)




Michael and Lori Eurgubian
Cynthia Stubblebine
Federick Teti
Janet Tarjan


Triangle of Friends ($5-$49)


Darryl Allen
Larry and Lynn Handa
Tina Levy
Randy Taylor
Cynthia Speed
Terrence and Carol Maguire
Teresa Dern Henson
Bic Dovan
Lynn Maracek
Doli Bambhania
John Burke
Pejmon Sadri
Mo Geraghty

                                                                    return to top

Conferences     |    News   |    Resources     |     Join Us     |     Foundation     |     College Representatives     |     CMC3 Board     |     Business    |     Home
Copyright © 2010 All rights reserved